2020 community programming

As we work through this strange year together, we are hosting a series of events to support our literary communities. Please join us, these events are free and open to all!

The most up-to-date info will be on Twitter.

2020 Community Programming Schedule:

Saturday, April 18, 11:30a ET/9:30a MT, Facebook Live - Working with an Editor: Q&A session with Sylvan Creekmore, Associate Editor at St. Martin's Press

Thursday, May 7, 6:45p ET/4:45p MT, via Facebook Live and YouTube Live - The Lit Agency and You: Q&A session with Hannah VanVels (Corvisiero Literary Agency) and Angie Hodapp (Nelson Literary Agency) 

Thursday, May 14, 6:00p ET/4:00p MT, via Facebook Live and YouTube Live - Denver Debuts In-conversation: Colorado Poet Laureate Bobby LeFebre with debut César Cuauhtémoc García Hernández, author of Migrating to Prison: America's Obsession with Locking up Immigrants

Wednesday, May 20, 6:00p ET/4:00p MT, via Facebook Live and YouTube Live - Denver Debuts In-conversation: Colorado Book Award Winner Diana Khoi Nguyen with debut Deborah Jang, author of Float True. Co-hosted with slant'd. 

Wednesday, June 3, 6:00p ET/4:00p MT, via Facebook Live and YouTube Live - Denver Debuts In-conversation, Lit & Film Discussion: Steven Dunn, author of Potted Meat, with debut Olivia Abtahi, author of the upcoming Perfectly Parvin.

Saturday, June 6, 6:00p ET/4:00p MT, via Facebook Live and YouTube Live- Mining the Modern Gothic, with Elisabeth Thomas, Author of Catherine House, in-conversation with Angela Marie Spring. Co-hosted with Duende District Bookstore.

2020 conference schedule

Our full schedule will be available in early summer. Below is a preview of our conference tracks and a sampling of our sessions:

Writing Craft Track

Session: Lyrics & Literature

Session: Building a Poetry Manuscript

Session: Interdisciplinary & Cross-Genre Writing

Small Group Breakout: Creativity During Turmoil

Publishing/Business Track

Session: Writing as a Small Business

Session: Publishing 101

Session: Working with Bookstores, planning live and virtual events

Session: The Dos and Don'ts of Self-Publishing

Individual sessions: Agent Blind-date, individual pitch sessions

Community Activism Track

Roundtable: Black-Latinx Representation in Literature, hosted by Duende District bookstore

Session: Responsible Representation & Intersections

Session: Movement Building, creating new publishing spaces

2020 conference presenters

Browse a first look at the wordsmiths, creators, publishing industry magicians who will share their know-how with you at [margins].

*Please note speakers and presentations are subject to change.